February NaHaiWriMo 2013

I have been participating in this, and talking about it on my Facebook page. I have not had time to write up a good blog post, so I will just share this one from Prose Posies which has links in it if you want to explore further.

Prose Posies

Back in February of 2011, Michael Dylan Welch, created the NaHaiWriMo daily haiku writing challenge on Facebook, as a way of encouraging haiku poets to develop a daily writing habit. The response was overwhelming!

Although originally conceived of as a one-time 28 day challenge, due to popular demand, NaHaWriMo has continued daily, with different haiku poets providing the prompts,  since February 2011. (I was the May 2011 prompter.) The number of participants has grown to over 1200; they range from new haiku poets, to those who have been writing for decades. All are welcome (there are newcomers all the time), and the NaHaiWriMo community is very supportive. This will be my third year participating. I will posting my haiku on the NaHaiWriMo FB wall, the HSA Oregon FB wall, and also here on my blog.

Michael has created a NaHaiWriMo website to provide  information about the challenge, including how to participate

View original post 42 more words

3 thoughts on “February NaHaiWriMo 2013

  1. Pingback: My Poetry Stats | Failing at Haiku

  2. After discovering OctPoWriMo (October Poetry Writing Month) and stumbling across NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), I wondered if there was a month for Haiku and I found NaHaiWriMo! This was mere weeks after deciding I would write (at least) one haiku per day for 2013. I am posting mine on poetatete.wordpress.com. It is so nice to discover someone else who is excited about haiku, too! ~Cheryl (@poetatete)

    Like

    • Isn’t that neat! I’m glad you’ve found me. I post a haiku every Monday. Sometimes it’s one I wrote a few days before, sometimes it’s one I’ve wrote a year before. I think really hard about them before I post them. I post a poem that is hard to fit into a category on Wednesdays and a quote on Fridays.

      Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

