Memorial Weekend Quote

Suffering and joy teach us, if we allow them, how to make the leap of empathy, which transports us into the soul and heart of another person. In those transparent moments we know other people’s joys and sorrows, and we care about their concerns as if they were our own.            -Fritz Williams

 

This weekend is Memorial Weekend in the United States. I hope everyone takes the time to be with their families, and be thankful that we are able to celebrate holidays wherever and however we please, because of our troops.

The roots of Memorial Day go back to 1865 and the end of the Civil War. Memorial Day was first called Decoration Day. It was changed to Memorial Day in 1882. Memorial Day is dedicated to service men and women who gave their lives for freedom and country. It is also a time to remember loved ones who have passed away.

7 thoughts on “Memorial Weekend Quote

  1. Very lovely thoughts for Memorial Day, Symanntha–I just wrote my Memorial Day poem last night, found some pictures; ready to go for Monday. God bless you BIG–love, Caddo

    Like

    • Thank you Caddo! I have a haiku that I think will work for Memorial Day, but a lot of people celebrate on Saturday, so I wanted an appropriate quote for the weekend. I can’t wait to see what you have in store. I hope God blesses your weekend and Monday.

      Like

      • Oh, aren’t you just the sweetest thing!! I know that the holiday is celebrated on various days–I just decided not to strain my brain, and stick it on Monday. Today I met some darling older vets, passing out poppies at the grocery store–I just love them, gave them each a hug!

        Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

