Panicked on Wednesday

snow covered trees, snowfall, snow, trees covered in snow, snow storm

Panic in the Forest

 
Like a wounded deer struggling in the snow,
I fear I’ll never rise again.
The fear makes it hard to breathe

 
makes the world seem so cold.
I see the blood dripping on the snow
and the panic chokes me.

 
Everything spins and I get dizzy.
I can’t get my legs under me.
The ground so solid comes rushing up

 
I am still…

 
My breathing gets easier,
the spinning has stopped.
It was just a flesh wound.
I leap away into the forest.

 

I cannot decide if I like this final edit or not. It used to be longer, but it felt more like prose so I chopped it up.

2 thoughts on “Panicked on Wednesday

Share your thoughts on this piece.

