Wandering through Wednesday with Miss Dickinson

I am changing the way I do Wandering Wednesday a little bit.

I have a lot going on in my life right now, and I think it would be easier on me, if I change the way I do Wednesdays. For a little while I am going to post Emily Dickinson poems on Wednesday instead of my poetry. I am always unsure of which poem to share with you guys. Will you like it? Do I really want to make it public or try to get it published? So I decided to not worry about it by posting someone else’s work. I am also going to stop stressing about attaching the right picture.

I will post my longer poems again, but for now I will let Miss Dickinson entertain you. Her poems are not titled, but numbered. The book I am getting them from is titled The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson and is edited by Thomas H. Johnson.

 

  # 23

I had a guinea golden –

I lost it in the sand –

And tho’ the sum was simple

And pounds were in the land –

Still, had it such a value

Unto my frugal eye –

That when I could not find it –

I sat me down to sigh.

 

I had a crimson Robin –

Who sang full many a day

But when the woods were painted,

He, too, did fly away –

Time brought me other Robins –

Their ballads were the same –

Still, for my missing Troubadour

I kept the “house at hame.”

 

I had a star in heaven –

One “Pleiad” was its name –

And when I was not heeding,

It wandered from the same.

And tho’ the skies are crowded –

And all the night ashine –

I do not care about it –

Since none of them are mine.

 

My story has a moral –

I have a missing friend –

“Pleiad” its name, and Robin,

And guinea in the sand.

And when this mournful ditty

Accompanied with tear –

Shall meet the eye of traitor

In country far from here –

Grant that repentance solemn

May seize upon his mind –

And he no consolation

Beneath the sun may find.

Share your thoughts on this piece.

