I cheered my fainting Prince

This is one of her more interesting poems.
 
 
# 616
I rose – because He sank –
I thought it would be opposite –
But when his power dropped –
My Soul grew straight.
 
I cheered my fainting Prince –
I sang firm – even – Chants –
I helped his Film – with Hymn –
 
And when the Dews drew off
That held his Forehead stiff –
I met him –
Balm to Balm –
 
I told him Best – must pass
Through this low Arch of Flesh –
No Casque so brave
It spurn the Grave –
 
I told him Worlds I knew
Where Emperors grew –
Who recollected us
If we were true –
 
And so with Thews of Hymn –
And Sinew from within –
And ways I knew not that I knew – till then –
I lifted Him –

Share your thoughts on this piece.

