Emily and Birds

Emily seemed to absolutely love birds. I think they are okay, but I think she must have loved them.

 

#760

Most she touched me by her muteness –

Most she won me by the way

She presented her small figure –

Plea itself – for Charity –

 

Were a Crumb my whole possession –

Were there famine in the land –

Were it my resource from starving –

Could I such a plea withstand –

 

Not upon her knee to thank me

Sank this Beggar from the Sky –

But he Crumb partook – departed –

And returned On High –

 

I supposed – when sudden

Such a Praise began

‘Twas the Winged Beggar –

Afterward I learned

To her Benefactor

Making Gratitude

Share your thoughts on this piece.

