But Sequence ravelled out of Sound

Surprise! You get two today. They are very similar so I am going to post them both. I like the first, and earlier poem, better.

Did Emily forget she had already written these words? Or was she disappointed with the first piece and did she try to re-write a favorite line into a better poem? Have you ever done that?

#937

I felt a Cleaving in my Mind –

As if my Brain had split –

I tried to match it – Seam by Seam –

But could not make them fit.

 

The thought behind, I strove to join

Unto the thought before –

But Sequence raveled out of Sound

Like Balls – upon a Floor.

 

#992

The Dust behind I strove to join

Unto the Disk before –

But Sequence raveled out of Sound

Like Balls upon a Floor –

Share your thoughts on this piece.

