The hard part of parenting, in a poem.

There are a lot of hard moments in parenting. Here is a poem about one of them that I had this weekend.

Easter, Easter Bunny, Easter Craft

 

The Easter Balance

Fake grass falls out of your basket

and tangles with the real

much like reality and the story you were told today.

We told you not to look out the window

as the Easter Bunny hid eggs for you to find.

I watch you run gleefully from spot to spot.

You’re amazed at the sudden appearance

of candy filled eggs through-out the grass.

They are quickly piled in your fake grass

inside your pastel wicker basket.

You are obviously happy right now, so I let it go.

I will make sure we pray to Jesus later,

and read a story about him.

You’re too young to understand the preacher

when he preaches about Salvation and ascension,

but I will make sure you acknowledge Christ today,

and pray you don’t think he’s just another story tomorrow.

As you eat your chocolate my mind wonders…

Will you have that moment some atheists have had

where suddenly every happy giving figure in your life

becomes a cute story that is no longer valid?

Will you sneer at Jesus and dismiss him

as another tooth fairy you were supposed to give to.

God forgive me if I have confused you.

When you find out about the Easter Bunny and Santa

I pray you will have spiritual moments that confirm

Jesus isn’t just an imaginary figure that loves you,

but a God that physically died for you,

and gives to you still today.

I hope someday your heart stirs at the word “cross”

more than it does at the word “chocolate.”

 

9 thoughts on “The hard part of parenting, in a poem.

  1. Pingback: 2014 in review | Failing at Haiku

  2. Pingback: Sentimental Senryu | Failing at Haiku

  3. This was the reason we decided to tell our kids what is real and what is just imaginary. We still pretend with the Easter Bunny, tooth fairy, and Santa, but we tell the kids they are just for fun. They are not real; Jesus is. If it’s any consolation, though, it seems that most kids have no trouble distinguishing between real and imaginary once they find out the Bunny, fairy, and Santa are not real.:-)

    Like

    • I had wanted to tell my son that Santa was just pretend, but his closest cousins are told that Santa and the others are real; and I know that at 2 he would have told them it was fake and everyone would have been mad at me for spoiling the fun. So I just grit my teeth and bare it and hope that he will understand that I was just trying to make his childhood magical.

      Like

  4. My husband must have been an especially sensitive child; he was really hurt when he found out Santa wasn’t real and his parents had lied to him. As you’ve stated in your poem, myths are very confusing to children, especially the Santa that disapproves of our naughty behavior but gives us the gifts anyway.

    Like

    • Yes, I don’t know why we have decided as a society that it is okay to lie to our children for years. But I don’t want to be the mom whose kid tells all of the other kids that Santa isn’t real and then everyone is mad at us. I just hope my son understands that it was all in fun.

      Like

      • I can appreciate that concern, too. I learned and it was never much of an issue. The thing is, there’s a whole ‘generation’ of kids four-ten years older than yours who will tell blab all. Do you want your son to hear from one of them that you’ve been misleading him?

        We didn’t have to worry, because our church as a whole takes the same approach. None of us tell our children these myths — so no one’s youngster is going to blab and spoil the fun. And when we talk about God seeing and knowing our actions, we can assure children that good will be rewarded and evil punished.

        Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

