This Test

storm, storms, clouds, rain, rain falling from clouds

This Test

 

Been pushed to my knees and can’t get up

Please pray with me while I drink from this cup

The weight is so much, the pressure so heavy

Please God, break the levy

I’m down on my hands and knees

Will I ever cross these stormy seas

This test has gone on for so long

Lord what have I done wrong

 

I know this poem is short, but it felt finished. I don’t think poems that are two pages long are better than poems that are only 12 lines long. It is what is in the poem. This poem is about a feeling that we often feel for a moment, an hour, a day. I thought forcing myself to stretch it longer for the sake of it being long would have been a disservice to the poem.

2 thoughts on “This Test

  1. “It is what is in the poem.” I agree. You express this feeling well. The poem decides the form. I thought a lot about this when helping to write lessons for The Haiku Foundation Education Wall.

    Blessings, Ellen

    Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

