Tanka about Before

flowerbeds, working in flowerbed, mulching

Before

I try not to wince
as I pull up dead flowers
I focus on what
I’ll plant in this bed next year
my hands have been here before

 

Yesterday’s prompt for National Blog Posting Month was “Do you feel you have found your voice on your blog? What techniques have you tried to develop your voice in your writing? What are some characteristics of your personality in your writing?

I have been feeling overwhelmed lately so I didn’t get yesterday’s post edited in time to share my thoughts on that. I will share them with you today. I have tried to develop several different techniques, but I have only mastered a few. It is hard to tell what I do well because I rarely get feedback. I would love to take a writing workshop, but there are none close to me. I would have to drive 2 hours to the nearest one and I don’t have the money to pay for a trip like that. I do feel I have found my voice. My tone in my poetry is usually quiet, rarely do I write a poem where I yell, but there are poems I have written in an angry tone. Some of my poetry is happy, some of it is dreadfully sad and some of it is inquisitive. But I feel that I have finally found my voice.

What do you think my personality is?

 

Today’s prompt is “Do you consider yourself a “professional” blogger? Why or why not? What does that mean to you?

Yes and No. I try to make my blog appear professional. I promote myself, however I don’t pay services to do so, nor do I guest post or blog for a group. I don’t do reviews or make money from my blog which is what I would say a professional blogger does. My blog is personal and important in my life. I blog every week and I follow other blogs. I encourage people to blog and read blogs.

What do you think makes a blogger a pro?

Share your thoughts on this piece.

