I wish I could buy wisdom.

smoke froma candle, whisp of smoke

I wish I could buy wisdom
I wish I could put it in a dish
and serve it to friends.
Alas it is as shapeless
as virtue and smoke
gone with gentle breathing

 

Today’s NaBloPoMo prompt asks What knowledge do you have that others don’t? Well that depends on the subject. I have a lot of knowledge that others don’t have. I know how morning glory vines twist up a trellis, I know how to make hollyhocks grow, but I don’t know how to keep rabbits away from my trees and bushes. I don’t know how to split an atom, but I can crack an egg without getting any shell in the batter. I can also use the shell to separate the yolk and the white without breaking the yolk. I know the difference between a senryu and a haiku, but I don’t know how to speak Japanese. I can make a pizza from scratch if I buy a kit from the store, but I don’t know if that is considered “from scratch.”

Today’s poem was first written on Twitter after I read a prompt from #Orjay. Do you write poems on Twitter?

Share your thoughts on this piece.

