Thank You for Your Love

sun breaking through, sunlight, water tower, evening

  Thank You for Your Love

Ancient words written by strangers
Have proven true yet again
Before I cried you heard
Before I cried you caught my tears
You moved mountains and people
You changed the winds to fill my sails
Taking me from the storm
As I land on the shore
I cry tears of thankfulness
Gratitude is too small a word
There has not been a word uttered
To describe the easing in my soul
You were faithful when I doubted
And You loved me when I strayed
You showed me the package mercy comes in
And unwrapped lovingkindness in my sight
Thank you Lord for your patience and love

 

I wrote this poem after I snapped out of my postpartum depression. I went about 6 months without writing a poem, which is the longest I have ever gone since I was in High School.

Share your thoughts on this piece.

