The roots of the best poetry.

“The best poetry has its roots in the subconscious to a great degree. Youth, naivety, reliance on instinct more than learning and method, a sense of freedom and play, even trust in randomness, is necessary to the making of a poem.” -May Swenson

How often do you just start writing? How often does one line or a thought come to you, and you just know you have to make that thought into something.

How often do you decide that you want to write a certain poem, and you write with a form in mind? How often is your work about having written something, and not about playing with words? How much freedom do you give yourself?

Do you agree with Swenson?

2 thoughts on “The roots of the best poetry.

  1. “How often does one line or a thought come to you, and you just know you have to make that thought into something.”
    Very often. πŸ™‚
    In fact I’d say USUALLY. And quite often I just play with words — but again, two or three will come to me and bounce around upstairs. At times I’ll see something I want to describe or write about it, or a statement / position / an argument will come to mind and I’ll compose a mild-mannered rant to state my opinion. But again it’s usually spurred by an initial thought.

    Like

    • That is what happens with me too, Christine. I will have a thought go through my mind and then I see if I an add a few lines and if it is easy to add a few lines I try to quickly write it down and make a poem while the thoughts are fresh in my head.

      Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

