My Poetry Stats

flower edit

I have written 769 poems as of yesterday. I have had 4 of them published. I thought as a fun little exercise I would list my stats here. I am also doing this because as I have said before, this blog also serves as a sort of time capsule for me. I meant to post this around 3 weeks ago right after I had titled and counted all of the poems after getting through the National Haiku Writing Month which is February. Today starts National Poetry Month and I am once again going to take on the challenge to write a poem a day for a whole month. After 3 years of NaHaiWriMo and three years of NaPoWriMo I feel brave enough to share my poems with you daily. So I am going to take a big leap and share my poems every night after I have written them. This may mean that I post them at 11:00pm at night, but I am going to try to do it. I had several people who had asked if I was going to share my haiku during NaHaiWriMo but I said no. So I will try it with this challenge this month and see how I do. So encouragement (Likes/Shares/Comments) would mean a lot this month!

I have written:

362 Japanese poems,
331 are haiku or senryu,
31 are tanka.

5 of my poems are cinquains.

I have written 257 poems in the last 12 months.

 

I will post an update of these stats in June and give more detailed stats if you would like to see them. If you want to see my blog stats go here. As of today I have published 684 posts on Failing at Haiku. You can look through the archive by scrolling to the bottom of this post and select a month to look at under the word Archives. There are 4 pages to this blog, which are the About Me and This Blog page, Poetry Definitions, What is Haiku? and My Personal Testimony (which is under the About Me page).

If you would like to see how many of my poems are titled vs. not, or how many of my poem’s titles contain the word “Morning” or how many are more than 12 lines long, let me know in the comments and I will give you those stats in June.

 

Share your thoughts on this piece.

