Like Marbles Rattling

irises

Like Marbles Rattling

It is a burden
to carry around
like marbles rattling
in a mason jar
like a splinter
you can’t pull out
chronic regret
plaguing my mind

6-22-15

This poem was inspired by #orjay no. 506.

Monday did not go well. The Orthodontist that was working on me was in a hurry (she started on me an hour late) and didn’t stop to give me a break when I asked her to. She opened my mouth as far as it would open, then put clamps on my jaw so that it would stay open, and she left me like that for 2 hours. She was only done with 1 tooth when I started motioning for her to stop. She told me to wait, my tooth wasn’t set. I started crying and she said 10 more minutes. When she finally took the clamps out, the nurse got upset.

My jaw was locked open. I couldn’t shut my mouth I could only cry. The dentist looked in my face and told me, “You have to relax.” and started massaging my jaw. After about a minute, she forced my jaw to close. I think she actually dislocated my jaw. She said she wished she had known my jaw was going to lock up because then she would have done sedation dentistry; like it was my fault for not telling her. She said, “that scares my nurses when that happens. It scares me too.”
This has never happened to me before and I have had a lot of dental work done. So when I got home, I called my dentist and told them what had happened. The receptionist at my Dentist told me she was sorry, I’m not sure that the others did. It is hard to remember because I was in so much pain and so upset. I will have to go to another Orthodontist in December to finish the root canal on the 2nd tooth, then I will have to go back to my dentist for 2 permanent teeth.
It is Thursday and I am still sore on the right side of my face. The Orthodontist gave me muscle relaxers, but there were storms in our area that night so our weather radio kept waking me up. I did not get much sleep. I was so tense that I could barely tell I had taken any medicine.

2 thoughts on “Like Marbles Rattling

  1. Pingback: Time Rectifies | Failing at Haiku

Share your thoughts on this piece.

