A Lucid Daydream

 

painted tree,sign of hope,spirit tree,big sky,cloudy sky,

Daydreaming

Maybe it is just
a lucid daydream
Maybe I’m not
really sitting here
Maybe it’s going
to be alright

7-20-2015

I wish I could say I have written more for the #Writtenriver poetry prompt, but this is the last one I wrote for them. I hope to start feeling inspired and less tired this month. I think my hours are going to stay the same at my job for a while and I should be able to get a regular schedule down. I just feel so drained. I haven’t written anything since early October. I know that is just about 2 months but I am starting to get concerned with myself. I have plenty of old poetry that I can post to the blog, I just wish I could still churn out new poetry like I was doing last year.

3 thoughts on “A Lucid Daydream

    • I tried writing short stories about two years ago. I showed them to my friends and family that are supportive of my poetry, but they didn’t seem to think my short stories were that great. So I abandoned that idea.

      Like

      • Whatever craft we undertake we can always learn and improve, including poetry. A few days ago a friend sent me a link to an article about writing haiku and I’ve tried a few challenging new techniques I learned. If you’re interested, here’s the link:
        http://www.scribophile.com/academy/an-introduction-to-advanced-haiku

        I wouldn’t want to say writing short stories is what you should do, but they say “a change is as good as a rest.” If you want to give it a whirl, you need to read a lot of them and get a handle on what makes a short story a success.

        There was a time when I took up quilt-making, which I enjoyed very much, but I had a lot to learn before I could craft something more complex than sewing squares together.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts on this piece.

