Thinking of Joining a Writing Challenge Because Appearently I’m a Masochist

I have gotten to the point where I feel I am not terrible at haiku, in fact, I think I’ve written a couple of good ones. So naturally, that means it’s time to embarrass myself in another genre. I am thinking about joining a weekly writing challenge. My poetry well has been dry for a while, but I am itching to write a story. I wrote some short stories last summer but could not bring myself to share them on this blog, and was advised by one person not to mix my short stories with my poetry.

I do not have it in me to run another blog, I just don’t! So, I just couldn’t find the courage to share my short stories when my focus group wasn’t wowed. To be fair short noir stories are not what my friends are used to seeing from me. They are used to short poems about flowers. So I thought, maybe if I joined a writing community where people are used to seeing all kinds of short stories… maybe I could find some support/community/understanding. This group is called Friday Fictioneers.

There is a sub-group to this group called Concrit, I definitely do not have the courage to join it, but I would like to read those stories and possibly leave them some comments. I will not leave them any criticisms seeing as how I can barely take criticism myself.

So anyway, here is an example to what I am thinking of doing every Friday from now until I get too upset/tired/scared/angry to join in anymore. Please, please, give me some feedback! They will always be stories that are 100 words long and inspired by a photo. Do you want to see another one?

top of a skyscraper,roof top, dusk,garden,wheat,secret garden,

photo credit: Roger Bultot

Secret Wheat Fields  
She always stepped lightly here. It was a sacred place. One of the last pieces of field, one of the last pieces of garden, one of the last pieces of hope.
If the First Peoples couldn’t get the wheat to flourish, they would all starve. The whole world. She thanked whatever lucky stars that hadn’t burned out, that she had been friends with a man of the First Peoples before the 2nd Dust Bowl occurred. She looked around wondering where he was, then she felt strong hands grasp her waist. No matter how quietly she moved, he was always quieter.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thinking of Joining a Writing Challenge Because Appearently I’m a Masochist

  1. Pingback: FF | Realization in the Basement | Failing at Haiku

  2. First off, I do want to encourage you to try out this new group. I believe any “polishing” we can pick up in any genre will improve the whole of our writing.

    A good story needs a beginning, a middle and an end. My impression of your story: you have the first two. If you really want to tell this story in 100 words, you need to cut out some of what you have and add some kind of “punch line” conclusion.

    For example:
    Delete one of the last pieces of field. Word-count-wise you can’t afford to repeat. Same with: “The whole world.” All is sufficient. Delete your first that, too.

    She thanked whatever lucky stars that hadn’t burned out Option: She thanked her lucky stars—those still glowing—that…

    How about ending with something that gives hope, like:
    She looked around wondering where he was, then she felt strong hands grasp her waist.
    “We’ll make it,” he promised. “We have each other.” (or “Together. You and I.”)

    As to: No matter how quietly she moved, he was always quieter. If you’re serious about sticking to 100 words, this sentence becomes irrelevant to the story.

    Like

    • Thanks for encouraging me Christine, I was hoping to get more of that today.
      These Friday Fictioneers stories will be 100 words long so they will not cover a long story line, but just be about a snap shot in time. This story was just supposed to be about this woman enjoying herself in a place that not everyone got to go into. It is more of a love story than anything, which is why I ended it with her in his arms. I think I did repeat myself a little bit, and that is something that I will have to watch with future stories. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      • Actually you ended it with him grasping her waist. I was initially uncertain, but chose to interpret his gesture as being loving. However, a reader may misinterpret it as he’d snuck up on her to harm her. That’s why I’d clarify his intention a bit.
        If the 100-word story is supposed to just be a snapshot, then you can disregard my advice about an ending punch line, as snaps don’t need this.

        Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

