Happy New Year’s Day 2016

old storage building
feeling the walls
of my self-imposed box
new year boundaries

I hope you all enjoyed ringing in the New Year. I have made a few personal resolutions that I am not going to share with anyone but my husband. What I will share with you is my verse for this year and my word for this year.

I found out last year that people often pick 1 word to focus on throughout the calendar year. Last year I choose the word READ, because I wanted to do more studying. This year my word is STEADFAST. I am going to learn to stay firmly fixed in place.

My verse for last year was Psalms‬ ‭34‬:‭4‬ I sought the LORD, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears. (‭NKJV) I made a verse image for it in my Bible App and saved the verse in different versions in my bookmarks on my Bible App. I wrote my verse, that I felt God wanted me to focus on for the year, in several places and read it at least once a day. I will write my verse for 2016 in my prayer journal and on Post-It notes to be placed around my house. I will continue to use the Bible App to study this verse and the rest of God’s Word.

This year I feel that God wants me to focus on Psalms‬ ‭112‬:‭7 He will not fear bad news; his heart is confident, trusting in the Lord. (‭HCSB)

What do you think God wants you to focus on this year?

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year’s Day 2016

  1. Pingback: 9 Months through this year. | Failing at Haiku

  2. Pingback: Half Way Through 2016 and I’m Back | Failing at Haiku

  3. That’s a great verse to remember. I could use it today, too, as I’m trying to cope with zero energy. Actually the whole Psalm is good; I’ve been working at learning the first ten verses with the goal of memorizing the whole thing. Sad to say, memorizing doesn’t come as easy as it used to! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts on this piece.

