FF Story | Proof

Friday Fictioneers is a group of bloggers that write 100-word stories after being inspired by a photo prompt posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We are allowed to use the photo in our post and encouraged to leave each other comments. I write my story before I read any of the other writers’ creations. This week’s story is 99 words long.

If you are unsure of the rules/form of Friday Fictioneers then please go to Rochelle’s blog by clicking on her name above.

old upright piano,red wood piano,spooky piano,

Photo Credit: Jan W. Fields

  Proof

Rose knew she wasn’t crazy.

The sheet music had turned by itself. It wasn’t the wind; she had shut all of the windows. It wasn’t a draft from the air conditioning; she shut that off an hour ago.

Rose wiped the sweat from her brow and gripped her phone tighter. Five percent battery power remaining… but she would get the proof.

No one would call her crazy after she got a video of the moving paper and ghostly tinkling coming from the piano.

Her phone went black, Rose slammed it down in frustration.

She laughed when the keys moved.

7 thoughts on “FF Story | Proof

  1. Well done! (Though the tale is cre-e-e-e-epy.)
    I’d probably stick the 100th word into the last line: “She laughed bitterly…”
    or something like that. Her laugh, after she’d just slammed the phone down in frustration, seems rather incongruous otherwise.

    Like

    • I thought the line before about frustration made it evident she was laughing bitterly, but yeah I probably should have added that word. I usually rewrite/edit my stories about 4 times before I post them and sometimes I don’t want to reword everything again when I have already found other words that I like.

      Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

