Marigold Tanka

DSCN2716

the marigolds were
a nuisance to deadhead
always in the front
but now there is emptiness
where they did not grow back

I decided that since I have written so many tanka, it would be fun to do Tanka Tuesday for a while. I am posting them in chronological order, skipping the tanka that I have already posted.

I did not have marigolds this last Fall. It felt weird until I bought myself some mums. I have never had mums which had always nagged at me because that is something most women put in their flowerbeds in my part of the world during Fall. So I bought some orange mums and felt better. I am keeping the mums in the garage, I am going to see if I can get them to come back in the spring.

Share your thoughts on this piece.

