FF Story | Immortalizing the Myth

Friday Fictioneers is a group of bloggers who write 100-word stories after being inspired by a photo posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We are allowed to use the photo in our post and encouraged to leave each other comments. I always appreciate anyone who takes the time to leave me a comment. I always read at least 5 other Friday Fictioneer stories, sorry if I missed yours! I will read more this weekend if I have the time. I write my story before I read any of the other writers’ creations. This week’s story started at 103 words and I cut it down to 99. I think that means I’m making progress!

bare trees,old courtyard,empty building,brick building,

PHOTO PROMPT Β© J Hardy Carroll

 

Β  Immortalizing the Myth

There were several rumors about the old place.

It had been a prison, no an insane asylum, no a boarding school for girls.

The myth that the high school kids had heard was that a Freshman girl had poisoned everyone at the school after being teased. The authorities were unable to figure out how she had poisoned everyone so they shut down the school.

The girls secretly celebrated her in the spring, by laying bouquets of flowers on the building’s steps. If her story was true, she was the reason they got to go to school with the boys.

14 thoughts on “FF Story | Immortalizing the Myth

  1. Rumors and legends really get the brain going, especially when one is young. We had our share of legends about places in my hometown, too. Great stuff! And great writing here, Symmantha. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts on this piece.

