FF Story | The Gypsy Life

Friday Fictioneers is a group of bloggers who write 100-word stories after being inspired by a photo posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We are allowed to use the photo in our post and encouraged to leave each other comments. I always appreciate anyone who leaves me a comment, but I am not doing Concrit at this time. I always read at least 5 other Friday Fictioneer stories, but I don’t have time to read everyone’s. Sorry if I missed yours! I will try to read the stories for the last 2 weeks that I have missed as well. I write my story before I read any of the other writers’ creations. This week’s story started at 140 words and I cut it down to 100. I just write until I feel I have a complete story, then I tighten it. Then I check it again, and have to chop out more words because I am detail-oriented!

clothes hanging,shed,storage shed,

Photo Credit: Mary Shipman

The Gypsy Life

Sierra stood in the cool shop waiting for the clothes to dry. She had found a rare moment of silence to think. The people she called family loved life on the road. Every day brought new puzzles like where would they take a bath? They learned to sleep in the back of the trucks. They learned to charm the authorities. But they hadn’t learned to love.

Owen still wouldn’t say the words. He said he loved the gypsy life too much to be claimed by one woman. Sierra decided she was tired of the gypsy life, and tired of Owen.

20 thoughts on “FF Story | The Gypsy Life

  1. I’m with Sierra on this. I like to know where my next bath is coming from. And a bit of commitment doesn’t go amiss. Well done for editing it so effectively.

    Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

