FF Story | City Lights

Friday Fictioneers is a group of bloggers who write 100-word stories after being inspired by a photo posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We are allowed to use the photo in our post and encouraged to leave each other comments. I always appreciate anyone who takes the time to leave me a comment. I write my story before I read any of the other writers’ creations.

I know that I haven’t posted much this week. I probably won’t post much this month. This month is fun and exciting but it drains me as so much is required of me. I will make sure to post a new haiku every Monday. I have managed to write 2 Friday Fictioneers stories so far for May. This week’s story is 101 words. It is my first draft, and I decided to share it anyway.

blue city lights,from the outside,big city,

PHOTO PROMPT © CEAYR

  City Lights

Ah, the city lights.

They were beautiful against the black water. It made the water shimmer and look like glass. Sue wondered if she was a little closer to those lights if she would shine too.

She had left Ma with 2 youngins on her hip, and Pa with a row needin’ hoed.

She had snapped and walked up the dirt road until it became pavement. Then she had walked the pavement until she reached the bus station.

Sue was sure she was meant for more than working in the dirt, but so far, the spotlight had failed to find her.

10 thoughts on “FF Story | City Lights

  1. Dear Symanntha,

    Not too shabby for a first draft. I really like the story and it sounds like you really could take it farther. If it were up to me I’d flipflop the last line and the next to the last and take ‘had’ out of the line. ie “…she walked the pavement until it became a bus stop.” Of course this is my opinion and suggestion. Nonetheless I love the story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ride the bus, then board the train, take a flight, her destiny is out there to find. But it might not be so great. Like your response to the prompt. Mike

    Like

Share your thoughts on this piece.

