This Girl is Gonna

IMG_6451
Dancing on the Devil’s Head
I’ve prayed long enuff
Now Ima gonna write a 
Sermon to the devil
This girl is gonna
Dance on the devil’s head
I feel the Holy Ghost risin’
The Spirit is fillin’ the room
No need to pout and doubt
I’ll just dance and sing
I feel the Spirit risin’
I dare him to shut me down
I’m going to dance ’til
The demons give up and flee
Walls will fall and men faint
But I will march on
I’ve prayed long enuff
It’s time to get off of my knees
And pick up a battle axe

  July 18,2015
 
 
A heartsoup prompt helped me grow this poem from 5 lines to what it is now.

2 thoughts on “This Girl is Gonna

Share your thoughts on this piece.

