What I learned about God from growing flowers.

If you look through these photos you will see a progression. It is the same progression that we go through with God. First, we are small weak vines and we need a branch to support us. Just like my moonflower vine. As we grow and get stronger we manage to grow flowers and we look good.

Then God cuts us. And it doesn’t seem to make sense.

But after we recover, we can grow stronger in our roots or at our base. After I prune my moonflower vine, it puts out more flowers. Instead of growing in a hundred directions and making no fruit, it thickens up and produces beautiful results. Look at all of the extra blooms in the bottom photos.

The last photo is a photo of the seed pod. We can only produce fruit after we mature and go through pruning and redirecting from God. I realized this one day while I was cutting back my vine.

I added 2 haiku in with the photos.

img_6501img_5165

 

does the moonflower

think about its tendrils

as it climbs the trellis

img_5323

img_5337

 

img_5406

img_5469  img_5449

not wanting to be
judged in the harsh light of day
closed moonflower bloomimg_5451

IMG_5455.JPG

img_5578

Don’t forget to share this post with the buttons below if you liked this post.

One thought on “What I learned about God from growing flowers.

Share your thoughts on this piece.

