FF | Traveling Home

Friday Fictioneers is a group of bloggers who write 100-word stories after being inspired by a photo posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. The photos are taken by other Friday Fictioneers. It is not a closed group, you can join in by adding your link to the blue frog linkup on Rochelle’s page. We are allowed to use the photo in our post and encouraged to leave each other comments. I write my story before I read any of the other writers’ creations, although I do often read Rochelle’s post before I write mine since it is right under the photo of the week. This week’s story is 100 words long. It is also a happy story. I decided to really push myself and write about something happy.

tucumcari trading post,gas station,road trip,travel,

PHOTO PROMPT © Jean L. Hays

Traveling Home

“We’re getting close, don’t fall asleep.”
“How close?” Jerri was anxious to see their new home.
“50 miles. This is the part of the country we’re going to live in.”
Officer Tony was excited. He had traveled out here by plane and bought a two-story home for his new bride.
“These little towns are so quaint. I really like the atmosphere though. Everyone is so nice.”
“I promise you’ll enjoy living here. My grandmother always wanted to return, she said it was like living in Mayberry.”
“As long as you don’t widow me like Aunt Bee, we’ll be just fine.”

13 thoughts on “FF | Traveling Home

Share your thoughts on this piece.

