Walnut Tree Haiku

old walnut tree
cracked and fell over today
it was dead inside

 

I think I wrote this haiku for a prompt on Twitter, but it is based off of seeing trees that have toppled over while walking through the woods. I wrote it a while back and was wanting the right picture to post with it, but kept forgetting to find a dead walnut tree. I said I would go walking through the woods this summer and get more pictures, but the start of this summer was incredibly busy so I have not accomplished that. The picture below is one I have had for a while and I have been waiting to find a poem about rebirth or regeneration to post it with. So to heck with it, I’ll just post them together. This stump was a tall walnut tree before it died and had to be cut down.

new life,regeneration,circle of life,saplings,trees

4 thoughts on “Walnut Tree Haiku

Share your thoughts on this piece.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.